1. Home
  2. Assessment Center
  4. What is a Credential of Learning Achievement (CLA)?
  1. Home
  2. Learning Center
  3. What is a Credential of Learning Achievement (CLA)?
  1. Home
  2. Assessment Center
  3. Renewals
  4. What is a Credential of Learning Achievement (CLA)?
  1. Home
  2. myICC
  3. What is a Credential of Learning Achievement (CLA)?
  1. Home
  2. Assessment Center
  3. CEUs
  4. What is a Credential of Learning Achievement (CLA)?

What is a Credential of Learning Achievement (CLA)?

A Credential of Learning Achievement (CLA) is issued by the International Code Council to those individuals who complete a training program on a specific subject and pass an assessment (examination) based on such training program.

What is the difference between an ICC Credential of Learning Achievement and an ICC Professional Certification?

  • An ICC Credential of Learning Achievement is awarded after completion of an ICC designated training program on a specific subject and passing an assessment (typically an examination) based on the training. It is a method of achieving a credential that has value including education and assessment. Professional Certifications certify a professional or occupational competency based on an examination developed by the ICC Exam Development Committee based on a job task analysis. An ICC Credential of Learning Achievement distinguishes an individual as being committed to professional development on important areas of building safety.

Is obtaining a CLA mandatory?

  • Yes and No. ICC does not have the legal authority to mandate the CLA. ICC credentials however are often mandated by entities and jurisdictions for hiring, continued employment, or promotion.

Will Completing the When Disaster Strikes Institute training alone qualify an individual to be deployed by FEMA or other Jurisdictions for damage assessment after disasters?

  • Yes. The When Disaster Strikes Institute is a training element required by FEMA for individuals to be able to be deployed, but FEMA and other local jurisdictions might also have additional requirements, such as licensing or ICC professional certifications, for actively deploying individuals for damage assessment. Individuals who complete this training element, however, will now be able to take another step by passing the related assessment and obtain an important ICC credential and its related digital badge.

What is the length of the training part of the CLA?

  • The length of training depends on the subject matter and the complexity of the topic.  Currently, the CLAs have training components that range from 6 to 12 hours in total.

What is the format of the training?

  • Training may be in different formats such as in-person, online or a combination thereof. Information specific to each CLA will identify the type and the format of the training.

What is the length of the assessment?

  • The length of the assessment will also depend on the length of the training and the specific subject matter. It is anticipated that in most cases the assessment portion of the CLA will be about an hour in length. Visit the Exam Catalog to view the length of each exam.

What is the format of the assessment?

  • All CLA assessments will be available through ICC’s PRONTO (Proctored Remote Online Testing Option), available 24/7 from any secure location with an internet connection.
  • To learn more on PRONTO and the start-up process, click here 

What form does the assessment take?

  • The assessment is in the form of an examination. In the future, other formats of an assessment might be introduced, but at the current time assessment is examined via PRONTO.

What are the fees for training and assessment?

  • The fees will vary based on the format and the length of the training portion. The training fees can be viewed by clicking on the courses above. The assessment is $65 (fees are subject to change).

Will there be required resources or publications that will need to be purchased for the training or assessment?

  • In most cases, there will not be any required publications and resources, but there will be codes, standards, and other publications or resources that will be helpful as a supplement to the training activity. Each CLA description will identify such resources that may be beneficial.

Will the assessment be open book or closed book?

  • All CLA assessments will be open book.

Is there a time period after having completed the training that the assessment must be taken and passed?

  • No, there is not a deadline after completing the training that the assessment must be taken and completed. However, since the assessment is based on the completed training, it is always most effective if the assessment is taken soon after the training activity while the information retained is still fresh.

If the training was taken more than a year ago and its completion is well documented, will it be possible to go to the assessment directly?

  • Yes

Is it possible to take the assessment first and then take the training?

  • No, the training must be taken and completed prior to taking the assessment.

Can the training and assessment be purchased together rather than individually?

  • Yes. There will be flexible options for purchasing the training and assessment as a bundle or separately. However, even if the bundle was purchased, the training must be completed prior to taking the assessment.

Is there a prerequisite for obtaining a CLA?

  • This will depend on the specific CLA. Since the CLAs are on specific subjects, in many cases general knowledge and experience in some aspects of the building safety industry will be needed. For certain CLAs, a credit will be given to previous credentials and less training may be required if the previous credentials are related to the CLA subject.

What if I do not pass the test?

  • You will be able to take the test as many times as necessary to achieve a passing score. The testing fee must be paid for each test.

Do I have to renew my Credential of Learning Achievement?

  • Yes, all CLAs are required to be renewed to be considered active. Renewal is required every three years from the date of CLA issuance. 3 hours (0.3 CEUs) of training on the CLA topic (such as training by ICC or ICC Preferred Provider) are needed for renewal.

I’ve completed the program, now what?

  • Since the test is being offered through the ICC Proctored Remote Online Testing Option (PRONTO), you will have access to your results immediately and will have access to documents showing you CLA credentials.

Will there be a proof of CLA or badge issued?

  • Upon completion of the program you will be able to download the wall certificate online through your myICC account within 24 hours of completing the test.
  • ICC is also issuing digital badges to showcase the credibility and proof of your accomplishment in a digitally shareable format.

Will there be a listing of CLA holders on the ICC website similar to the listing for those who hold ICC certifications?

  • Yes

Are the number of CLAs an individual can obtain limited?

  • No, an individual can participate in as many CLAs as they wish. There is no limit on the number of active CLAs held by an individual.


Updated on January 13, 2021

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles